Pre-Med Requirements

My undergraduate degree is in physics, with a fairly heavy concentration in mathematics.  The curriculum I completed fulfills a number of the standard AMCAS requirements, so I still lack the following:

  • General Chemistry II with lab
  • General Biology I and II, with labs
  • Organic Chemistry I and II, with labs

I believe that I’m also short one semester of English as well.  My plan at this point is to take my remaining chemistry class and a first biology course this spring semester.  Once the chemistry sequence is finished, I’ll take organic chemistry over the summer and then complete the last two in the fall.  Considering that I’m also working full-time, taking a couple of classes each semester is going to really fill out my schedule.  Discipline and consistency are going to be crucial in doing well in these classes.

If all goes according to schedule, I’ll be taking the MCAT in the spring of 2011.  Preparing for the MCAT, like the rest of the med school application process, is a lot like planning an invasion of Normandy.  I’m about 18 months away from submitting my application, but I’ve already started the process of selecting schools, thinking about my personal statement, and trying to figure out how to accumulate some clinical experience between now and then.

Ultimately, my goal over the next 12 months is to rock my five remaining pre-med courses and review the material that’s covered on the MCAT.  To that end, I’ve bought the Kaplan review books and plan to use them for study aids as I progress through the requisite classes.  From what I’ve read about medical school, using exam preparation materials in this manner as I complete my coursework is a very effective study strategy.

One Response

  1. Hey I just found your site, looks like you’ll be taking the MCAT and going the the application year the same time as me. I wish you the best of luck, and hopefully someday we’ll be comrades, MD. 🙂

Leave a Reply

