More Evidence That American Science Education is Awful

I’ve spent a good part of the past few days trying to teach myself how to interpret carbon NMR spectra.  In doing so, I stumbled across a British chemistry website, which has turned out to be a fairly good introduction to the subject.  What shocked me was the author’s assertion that his website was geared towards 11-18 year old students preparing for university.  I was compelled to laugh when I realized that there was no way that the American high school  students I tutor every week could follow any of what he’d written.  Even the AP students, which are supposedly the best students and bound for university, would be unable to follow most of what he’s covered.  Unbelievable.

It’s really sad to see American science education fallen so far behind the rest of the West.

Leave a Reply

