The Game’s Afoot

I see you stand like greyhounds in the slips,
Straining upon the start. The game’s afoot:
Follow your spirit, and upon this charge
Cry ‘God for Harry, England, and Saint George!’

– Henry V, Act III, Scene I

It’s official – I registered for the MCAT this afternoon and have a seat reserved for Sept. 10th at 1:00.  Over Christmas break, I wrote out a study schedule for the exam and, now that I have a date, will start studying in earnest June 2nd.  That gives me about 100 days to review for the exam.  I plan to spend about 3-4 hours a day during the week studying, probably do some verbal passages in the morning, and content review and practice passages in the evenings.  On the weekends and the last few weeks before the big day, I’ll do timed full-length exams.

As much as I don’t like the sensationalizing that’s omnipresent on SDN, I’ve found lots of useful recommendations and advice on the exam, particularly here.  My study schedule is heavily drawn from what is described there.  Also, the consensus seems to be that the Berkeley Review is to be preferred for content review and practice problems, so after reading through them and the ExamKrackers books – really like these too- I chose BR.  Once I’ve sat the exam, I’ll post my thoughts on their quality.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to devote enough time and effort to preparing for the exam – I’m shooting for a 35 which I think is doable, but will definitely be a challenge.  I’ll post regular updates as to how things are going.  Thanks for reading.

3 Responses

  1. Berkeley Review is the best, hands down. I studied their books for months in preparation. Their organic books are kind of overkill though.

    I can’t speak highly enough about BR. Like you, I followed that exact same schedule for a while but found a more personalized schedule after several weeks. But honestly, I don’t like how he rotates subjects. It will either click with you, or you’ll sort of fall into a better routine naturally.

    Best of luck either way!

    • Thanks for the confirmation.

      I modified that schedule quite a bit to suit my needs. My second semester biology class omitted a lot of physiology, so I made sure that it included more time to review those topics. In the last month or so, I’ll be doing all 8 of the AAMC exams so I hope that’s sufficient.

  2. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

