More Organic Lab Crap

I tend to not like to complain, but it’s late and I feel the need to vent.  My organic lab TA didn’t post the H-NMR results that we did last Monday until 4:00 this afternoon and the lab write-up is due tomorrow at 5:00.  This meant that I wasn’t able to actually work on the analysis and results of my lab report until this evening.  Even though I wrote the experimental section and introduction earlier in the week, the bulk of the data analysis depended upon getting the actual results from the experiment.  I’ve been working on it for the past 8 hours and have finally finished.

This is a load of crap – I have an exam on Thursday that I could have been studying for and I have to work tomorrow.  My TA is applying to medical school this cycle and, as much as I hate saying it, I really don’t want to see things work out for him.  Seriously – how can you not have the organizational skills to get your students their lab write-ups earlier than the night before they’re due!!!

This is ridiculous.  I’m tired.  I’m going to bed.

2 Responses

  1. Hey there, thanks for the comment on my blog! I’ve been reading through your blog and I have to say that I’m annoyed even READING about your orgo class! Is there someone you can talk to about the TA, because it’s unfair and unrealistic for him/her to be doing things like this. I can’t speak for how well he or she will do getting into medical school, but yes, once in, it’s going to be a problem if he or she can’t manage time properly. Good luck with everything! I am an older student, who also did a post-bacc program while working, so I feel your pain (although I probably would have cut my TAs if they tried things like this!) 🙂

    • I suppose I could complain to the course director if I wanted to, but I tend to avoid that sort of thing since there is no anonymity in the real world and I could totally see him being a vindictive bastard and finding a way to dock my grade. The saving grace of it all is that he puts as much effort into grading as he does anything else – I’m pretty sure that I could include the lyrics to the Fresh Prince of Bel Air in my write-ups and he wouldn’t notice.

      I should point out that the lecture isn’t all that bad, although the professor tends to skip over a lot of material and then test us on it later, which is a little annoying. The lab, on the other hand, is a nightmare – it’s 9:00 AM and he still hasn’t posted the pre-lab for the experiment we’re doing this afternoon at 5:00 PM. I have friends in the other lab sections that send me their pre-labs and that seems to work out pretty well. But, the frustrating thing is the final lab report we have to write over 4 experiments – he hasn’t given us any guidance as to what it needs to include, how he wants it written, etc. So, I have to write a monstrous paper on a months worth of work without any clue what it needs to include. Frustrating.

      Oh. And he hasn’t posted any grades at all this semester. Hopefully his records match the real thing when it comes time to post grades in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

