Organic Exam

I heard through the grapevine today that the results for our second organic exam were really bad. The average was a 65 with a couple of 80s and a 90. Our professor refuses to give out grades early, so I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out how I did.

My guess after the exam was something in the 70 range, but it’s possible that I wound up with one of the 80s.

I’m a little bit frustrated with our professor – he skips a ton of material in lecture and never lets us know what is important and what isn’t. A wee spot of help in preparing for the exams would be appreciated.

3 Responses

  1. Well, the results were pretty brutal. Most of my friends were in the mid 60s. One of my study group people got a 40. Ouch.

    I did about as well as I’d hoped; my final score was an 81. Hopefully that means I’m still near enough to the top of the class to keep an A.

  2. It’s interesting to read your posts about 1st semester ochem compared to 2nd semester because I feel like I”m in the same boat. 1st semester ochem I couldn’t see what all the fuss was about, but this semester may very nearly break me. Our test today had reactions that are introduced later in the book than what we’ve covered and the prof has given no indication the class is even curved (to my knowledge 1st semester wasn’t). If you figure out some method to wrap one’s head around the randomness of Ochem 2 exams, please share!

    • The reaction mechanisms aren’t all that dissimilar – I haven’t really had much of a problem with it. The problem I’ve run into is that our professor does a really bad job of communicating what he wants us to focus on and what he doesn’t. Textbooks typically contain a lot more than what a normal class will have time to cover in a two-semester course. The job of the instructor is to make clear what the student needs to be familiar with.

Leave a Reply

