Apparently, I Need to be Watching Grey’s Anatomy

Well, thanks to The Intern, it has come to my attention that my pre-med education has been woefully lacking.  I have no clue who Lexie Grey is.  Or Dr. McDreamy (my heart hurts to type those words – I had to Google it).  Allegedly, all the purity and reality of medicine will become clear for me once I’ve watched a few seasons of this show.  I can hardly wait.

I confess.  I have weaknesses.  I think that Babylon 5 and Stargate Universe were some of the best shows ever made.  I also think, had Joss Whedon not been stiff-armed by the networks, that Firefly would ultimately have wound up as successful as Buffy the Vampire Slayer, another of my top 5 television shows of all time.  So, it should be no surprise to anyone that my tastes in entertainment are somewhat eclectic.  However, I’m having a tough time seeing how a show as shallow and unrealistic as Grey’s Anatomy deserves my attentions.  Just reading the Wikipedia entry makes me want to run for the hills.  But, from what I’ve heard, every real pre-med owes it to themselves to study the show, so that we can understand what it’s really going to be like, if we decide to pursue surgery.  Let me see….surgery…sex….more sex…some more surgery…and a lot more sex with co-workers, attendings, patients, and probably the dude that empties the trash at the end of the week.

Surgery has me so interested right now.

Seriously, readers.  I don’t have a lot of time, but I do have a legitimate weakness for good TV fiction.  House was enjoyable up until it departed from it’s namesake.  I’ve never watched an episode of ER.  Is Grey’s Anatomy a worthy use of my time?  Or is it simply a unrealistic soap opera that is better left on the Netflix rack where I found it?

11 Responses

  1. I honestly gave Grey’s Anatomy a shot. Took re-watching Firefly to scrub the icky off my brain.

    • I felt exactly the same after reading the plot synopsis of the first season. Sounds like primetime soap operas to me. I’ll stick with Buffy.

  2. I, honestly, love “Grey’s Anatomy,” but I wouldn’t really depend on it to give me an idea what surgery residency or even life is like. It’s just a drama, meant to entertain the general public. 🙂

    So don’t torture yourself watching it. 🙂

  3. I was not a fan of Grey’s. I was supposed to be, since everyone else in my class was, but I just couldn’t get into it. I hear it went seriously downhill after season 2. Or was it season 1? Don’t bother. Study for the MCAT instead!!

  4. At the risk of blatantly gender stereotyping, I think Grey’s Anatomy is more of a girls’ show. It’s superficial, almost a soap opera, and bears no resemblance whatsoever to the actual goings on in a hospital (For example, there are no anesthesiologists in the ORs. And no internists in the hospital. And the surgery residents sit down for lunch together every day. I could go on…) I love it for all these reasons, but it’s definitely not a must-watch for someone in medicine.

  5. Haha thanks for the shout-out. It totally is a girl show. But I think it was fun. If you haven’t watched the show LOST maybe you would like that one better.

    • An ex-girlfriend got me watching Lost, and I stopped watching after season 4. After the show ended, I finished it off – was decidedly underwhelmed with the final season, particularly the finale.

      So far, I’ve yet to find much that could compete with Buffy or Firefly. Sorry. Oh, and TNG, but that should be rather obvious.

  6. Well, if you look past all the personal story lines and watch it for the medical side of the show, it is really, really good. I used to love it, but lost interest a couple seasons ago.

    Re: video games– not a failure, just one of those guy things I will NEVER understand. I actually hate them for all ages, to be honest. Except for Wii, because that requires you to be up and moving. Hope you weren’t offended.

    • If the only thing you don’t understand about dudes is video games, I think you’ll be fine.

  7. Please don’t. I thought better of you than to even consider that. The purpose of it being a medical show was just to have a set backdrop location. It is only another pointless soap opera whose main focus is sex and pointless emotional drama.

    • Agreed. I remember when I accidentally discovered the show even existed. I went to look up Gray’s Anatomy on Wikipedia and it forwarded me to the TV show. I remember reading the synopsis for the first season and all I could think was “Well, no wonder so many people want to become physicians. If it was 24/7 shagging, I’d probably be into medicine too!”.

Leave a Reply

