A New Series to Try – Dexter

At Old MD Girl’s behest, I decided to give Dexter a try. I have to say, at first, I wasn’t really much of a fan. By around season 1, episode 6 I was at the least interested. And then, one of my friends decided to mention what happens during the season 4 finale. More than a little bit pissed about that.  Sort of upset, now that I know how the next 48 episodes end.

Anyway, so far, I like Dexter. Feels like a cross between Hitchcock and the Addams family, with a little bit of Cuban spice thrown in – have to say that I like it so far, but it’s crazy brutal and pretty graphic. Interestingly, most of the carnage is off-camera, so it really does invoke memories of watching Alfred Hitchcock late at night. Anyway, off to finish season 1.

Oh. Anyone offering up more spoilers will have to deal with some serious consequences.

3 Responses

  1. I didn’t really like the gore either, and I agree it started off slowly. In fact, the only reason I kept watching at all after the first two episodes is that my husband LOVED it. I thought it got better…. but I won’t be offended if you decide you don’t like it. 🙂

    Deb gets a lot less annoying during season 2. Also, things get kind of crazy at the end of season 1.

    Season 4 was my favorite so far, and I think season 1 was my least favorite.

    • I agree – Deb is exceedingly annoying, so it’s nice to hear that she improves over time.

      So far, it’s actually not that bad, but the first couple of episodes really made we want to bail on it. After that, it’s gotten better.

    • So, I finished all of Dexter a couple nights ago – you were totally right. The first season is a bit of a drag, but it got a lot better. I think I enjoyed season 4 the most, but my least favorite was season 3. I absolutely abhorred any scene that included Jimmie Smits.

Leave a Reply

