Two Surprises!

So, earlier this week, I got to thinking about the amount of time I had left before the exam and I realized that the numbers didn’t work out.  I checked out my calendar and realized that I had 5 weeks left instead of 4, so I had a bit more breathing room than I thought.  My exam date is Sept. 11, so I have another 4 weeks and change.

Also…big news!  Took my first practice exam last night under timed conditions.  My score breakdown looked this:

Physical Science: 13
Verbal Reasoning: 11
Biological Science: 10
Composite Score: 34

Pretty stoked to see that on my first exam with another month to go.  I have another 8 practice exams to work and review as well as bunch of other practice passages as well.  I’m planning to go back through the review materials and work the remaining problems from each chapter – sort of a cyclical approach.  I’m still a little bit nervous about the exam, because I’ve heard that AAMC #3 is the easiest of them all, but I’m going to take this as a good sign.  A lot of work left to do still, but for now, I’m a little bit more confident than I was a week ago.

2 Responses

  1. So far, so good! What I learned from being a Kaplan MCAT instructor (and granted, I never ever told my students to use our materials) was to use the AAMC exams as the most realistic tests, Examkrackes Verbal for Verbal passages and the Kaplan practice tests more as large Q banks, rather than representative of the real thing. More practice, the better, eh?

    Almost over soon 😀

  2. The team at Premed Network has recently come across your blog.

    I’m the President of Premed Network, a nationwide network of premed students.

    http://www.PremedNetwork.com

    The vision of Premed Network is to create a platform for the next generation of physicians.

    We are reaching out to select medical student bloggers to share their posts in our community.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,

    Omar Baig
    President, Premed Network
    16180 Alum Rock Avenue
    San Jose, CA 95127
    (408) 802-5267

Leave a Reply

