Seriously Exam Krackers?

I took an Exam Krackers full-length verbal exam last night and wound up scoring around an 8 last night.  I’d been scoring somewhere between 10-11 on all of them and I felt really good on most of my answers, so when I scored it, I was a bit surprised and more than a little bit worried, since my exam is only two weeks from now.  I’m still really nervous about verbal, since I’ve heard so many people talk about how impossible it is to do well on that section.

Anyway, I told myself that it was all just a fluke, took another one this evening, and scored a 9.  This really pissed me off, since I really felt like I had nailed the section.  So, I started looking at the solutions….turns out that the answer key and the actual answers in the back didn’t agree.  Apparently, during one of the revisions, some of the answer keys weren’t updated.  Once I graded my exam using the correct solutions, I wound up with an 11, which makes me a lot happier.

From looking at the questions I’ve missed, at least on the EK exams, it looks like most of the ones I’ve missed are more or less cases where I’ve narrowed it down to two answers and then taken my original answer and second-guessed myself.  Hopefully, a few more practice EK exams and the rest of the AAMC full-lengths will get me there.

Just to be clear.  I absolutely hate studying for this exam.  I’m exhausted.  I’ve only done laundry 3 times in the past 4 months.  I haven’t ridden my bike since April.  And my apartment looks like a frat house after a 5-alarm kegger.  Two more weeks to go.  I feel like I don’t know anything about physiology, or chemistry, or physics and I’m terrified that the MCAT is going to be an exam made up of all the topics that I don’t know.

3 Responses

  1. I had that exact same problem last year. I remember my friend asked if English was my second language after I told him my scores! I ended up with a 13 on verbal though so the EK was definitely helpful.

    • Thanks for the comment.

      How did you review your EK verbal practice exams?

      • Basically, I went through and marked all the ones I got wrong making sure not to see what the right answer was. Then I would wait atleast a few hours and take it over again seeing if I could figure out my mistakes before checking the answers and I would go ahead and review every question it took about ~5-6 hours. A lot of work but I was worried about verbal. I also did every Princeton verbal passage. I don’t miss that! Good luck on the test your practice scores look good!

Leave a Reply

