Only 7 Days of Studying Left

I’m taking the exam a week from Tuesday and I plan to take the day before off and just relax – nothing MCAT related at all, except for checking to make sure i have all my paperwork and crap ready.  I’ll probably go into the office that day, but I’m taking the exam day and the day after off.

Between now and then, I had a pretty hardcore review cycle in mind, along with the last 4 practice exams, but I’ve sort of changed my mind.  Instead of reviewing subjects that I’m pretty sure I already understand, I’m going to focus on learning the basics of the things which I don’t know at all.  So, the basics of immunology, a review of reproduction, reinforcing hormones, some of the details of microbiology (e.g., fungi, spores, etc.), a whirlwind review of the molecular biology stuff from the Berkeley Review books, and that’s it.  I’m not going to try and review everything else.  Just these targeted topics that I know I’m weak in and reviewing the practice exams, which I’ll be taking every other day between now and next Sunday.

I’m tired of studying.  I have MCAT dreams.  There are dreams where everything I read including restaurant menus, stop signs, emails, and the labels on the side of the cereal box are verbal passages.  I’ve had a recurring dream where I was given the ability to fly like Superman, but had a really hard time getting off the ground.  I had it again last night and finally realized it was because I wasn’t generating enough lift, which meant that I needed to run faster or maximize my surface area relative to my angle-of-attack vector.  I also find myself imagining MCAT exams made from all the questions that I’ve had in the past four months that I didn’t know the answers to.

Tell me that I’m not the only one that has felt this way.

6 Responses

  1. You’re not the only one with crazy dreams! I had dreams I’d forget to feed the dog for a month because I was so busy studying for the MCAT. Good luck you’ll do great. Looks like you’re well prepared.

  2. You can do it! This week you will dream of spores! 🙂

  3. You are going to rock the MCAT, get into the school of your choice and all this work will seem like a pittance compared to the sheer joy of success I suspect you will feel!!

    Best of luck to you!

    • Thanks – I really appreciate the encouragement. Hopefully I’ll find myself a few days from now feeling confident about how things are going to turn out.

  4. Good luck! I took two weeks ago and if you are scoring in the mid-30’s you are golden! Without a doubt AAMC 11 is the closest to what you will see. Brush up on your experimental Bio.

  5. This is basically my summer summed up real short and sweet. Except this really rampd up last month of summer when all I was doing was practice test and problems and then diagnosing the problems. I was on all kinds of stimulants and cognitive enhancers, even that 5% edge to break 40. Wish me luck, take the exam in 2 weeks.

    I plan on taking this exam only once.

Leave a Reply

