Labor Day

The Doctor Lady is in town this weekend, so we made dinner together last night – andouille sausage and peppers with penne noodles – and then watched a couple episodes of Game of Thrones.  I introduced her to them a couple of months ago when I was visiting her, and she is hooked!  I think we have two more episodes in season 1 left to go.  Luckily, I have season 2 as well, so the mammoth cliffhanger at the end of the season won’t be too hard to handle.

I just got back from lunch with her – had gyros and chicken shawarma.  Now I’m sitting down at the office to knock out the fifth installment of the AAMC full-length exams and then will head home to review it.  I’m planning to do the remaining three exams on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  On the other days, I’ll keep working through the remaining subjects that I need to spend some time on.  Hopefully it will be enough.

I don’t feel like I’ll ever be ready – it always seems like there is more that I should know from physiology and microbiology, but short of getting another degree in those fields, I don’t think there is much more that I can do.

4 Responses

  1. hey bud relax! a 33 and above is an awesome score! I made a 26 on my MCAT and am now a third year medical student here in Louisiana. You’re going to do fine, trust me!

    • Assuming that you are attending an allopathic institution, your experience is quite atypical. A 26 would be unlikely to be considered by my state institutions. Glad it was sufficient for you.

  2. Yes, it is an allopathic school. I’m just trying to show you that it’s not always about how high you score on these tests. Hopefully you’ll realize this if and when you do start med school. All the best luck to you.

  3. Very good information. Lucky me I found your blog by accident (stumbleupon).

    I have saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

